Friday, I leave for school. I sent off the apartment money yesterday. It’s just me and my buddy Ben. We plan on talking of many things, of shoes and shirts and ceiling wax and whether rational beings can co-exist in an irrational culture. I don’t think that last part was part of Wonderland. But irrationality is part of many, many people.

On a related topic, lately I’ve been watching a four-part BBC called The Century of the Self. (Why is it that England makes all the best documentaries?) It’s the history of psychoanalysis, patented by Freud, and worked upon by others wanting to know what makes humans human. My personal favorite is Abraham Mazlow, but I digress. You can find all four parts of this amazing documentary here.

One part stood out. Professor Martin Bergman, who conducted psychoanalysis of soldiers coming back from WWII said this: “The ratio between the irrational and the rational in America is very much in favor of the irrational.”

And this got me thinking of belief and faith (as I often do). Mostly, a recent study that shows how far Americans lag behind in the acceptance of the theory of evolution, seen here:

So, as it appears, this country is less educated than others… 32 other countries to be exact. Now, really there’s only one explanation for this and it’s something that is becoming less and less accepted throughout the world: divine faith.


I don’t know how long it’s going to take for Americans to realize that this world is natural, and that supernaturalism is just a figment of their imagination, but what I do know is that slowly, very slowly, there’s an underground movement resting its own faith in something tangible: reason. I like to call it the rational movement, and I’m proud to be a part of it. I can only hope that rationality will be enough to overcome all the crazies out there. I can only hope…

Peace & Love.

